Posted by: kerryannekay | August 10, 2017

Tomat-NO

It’s getting to the end of summer for me…and that’s a total bummer.  On a positive note, the cherry tomatoes are starting to come in.  I’ve had several of the ripe tomatoes in my salad and they are awesome.  So, I decided to put some of the ripe tomatoes into the boys’ salad the other night.  As I walked up the stairs, I was thinking about how much they would love these home-grown tomatoes.  I was feeling good about all of the hard work I had put into those stupid plants…  That was until I put the dish down into the boys’ cage.  Here’s a transcript of the boys’ reaction:

Fred:  “Oh, dinner!”  *runs over to dish*

Lamont: “Dinner!” *runs over to dish*

Fred: “Parsley!” *munch, munch, munch*

Lamont:  “Pars…What’s that?” *looks down at cherry tomato and sniffs*

Fred: *stops mid munch* “What is what?”

Lamont: *sniff, sniff*

Fred: “What?” *drops parsley*

Lamont:  “That thing…what is it?”

Fred:  *sniffs at cherry tomato*

Lamont:  “Well?”

Fred:  “It smells like a tomato…but it’s different…”

KA:  “Oh, stop being so picky and just eat it…”

Lamont:  “Is it new?”

Fred:  “I think it’s new…”

KA:  “It’s from our garden…”

Lamont:  “Did you grow it?”

KA:  “Yes!”

Fred:  “Nope…”

Lamont:  “Nope…”

KA:  “What do you mean ‘nope’?”

Fred: “Nope, nope, nope…” *grabs parsley and back away from dish*

Lamont: *Grabs apple and turns away from dish*

KA:  “Seriously, you two? You’re not going to eat those?”

Fred:  *silence*

Lamont:  *munches on apple*

KA:  “Uh-hun…  I’ll come back later to see what’s up…”

*** 2 hours later ***

KA:  *Walks back into bedroom*  “So, you guys like the new cherry tomatoes?”  *checks food dish*  “Seriously?  You two ate EVERYTHING but the cherry tomatoes I grew?!?  You’ve both had them before from the supermarket!  I know you like the variety…”

Fred:  *yawns*

Lamont:  *continues to chew on hay ignoring me*

KA:  “Fine, we will try again tomorrow…”

The next day, I added more of the home-grown tomatoes to the boys’ meals.  They didn’t eat them.  Thinking that the cherry tomatoes were under ripe, I let them get redder then added them to the boys’ meal with some store bought cherry tomatoes.  The boys ate the store bought ones and not the ones I grew…go figure…  – KA

Responses

  1. Silly boys – homegrown is much better than store bought!

    • Dude, they smell all natural and stuff. Is that normal? – F&L


Leave a Reply

Categories

