Posted by: kerryannekay | March 9, 2017

The Yapper 

My new house has brought a host of new characters into my life. This new cast includes the neighbor’s dog.  I have been told the name of the dog multiple times. However, upon first meeting it, my brain gave him a nickname: “The Yapper”.

The first time I saw the dog in the neighborhood’s backyard, I called, “Hey, puppy! How are you?”  The dog started barking at me. “Ok,” I tried, “I’m not going to bother you… I’m just doing some yard work.”  My words didn’t appease the beast.  The barking continued. 

“Oy,” I sighed and went back to my work. As I raked the errant leaves up, the dog followed me back and forth along the yard. “Stop following me,” I scolded the dog when I was cleaning the fence line. That didn’t work. 

I sat down and tried to connect with the dog. “Look,”‘I said to the nose and teeth trying to bust through the fence, “I like dogs.  I may even like you.  But you’ve got to stop this… this… yapping.”  The dog would not listen to my reason. It kept baring and barking. 

I went back to working. After about five minutes more, I was done. I threw down my take and marched over to the fence. “Stop your yapping!” I scolded the dog.  I added “You are a freaking yapper!” for good measure. The dog stopped barking and tilted its head. 

“Yes,” I said defiantly, I called you a Yapper!” Just the I heard the neighbor’s screen door slide open.  

“I see you’ve made a new friend,” he called to the dog and I. 

“Hey,” I called back,

“I’m trying,” I said.  

“Let’s go *insert name here*,” he said and the dog ran into the house. “Have a good day,” the neighbor called as he slid the door closed.  I went back over to my rake and got to work. 

I’ve had several more run ins with Yapper since our first meeting. The dog still doesn’t like me. Perhaps it’s because I keep forgetting its name. Do dogs hold grudges for stuff like that? Or perhaps he doesn’t like me because I can’t remember his owners’ names. 
I apologize for the short blog today. I have a sore throat and I’m just not feeling well. There are several more stories I would like to write about Yapper. That little dog reminds me of Toto from “The Wizzard of Oz” and makes me want to act like the Wicked Witch of the West. Stay tuned. 

Responses

  1. How do the boys feel about all the yapping?

    • They don’t. I’m keeping them away from it. – Ka

  2. My Mom had new neighbors move in next door to her and the dog kept barking at her. Now my Mom likes dog and figured out how to befriend her new neighbor. With permission she began to give it a dog treat every time they met. Now when she is out and near the fence line working on her plants instead of barking the dog comes up and gives a gently whine asking for its treat. If she doesn’t have one she tells it she is going to go in and get one and the dog waits patiently.


Leave a Reply

Categories

