Posted by: kerryannekay | February 16, 2017

Train-ing the Boys at 2:00 a.m.

Actually, it’s 2:15 am.  Not that you care about a 15-minute discrepancy.  But, I digress.  You may be asking yourself, ‘Why is KA writing a blog that early in the morning?’  It’s a simple answer: Fred and Lamont.  Let me explain.

My new house is between two railroad lines.  The line to the north is a cargo line and the line to the south is a passenger line.  The cargo line is closer to my house.  Sometimes you can feel the larger trains rumble by on the line.  Farther down the line, the train has to signal that it’s crossing an intersection with road traffic.  You can always hear the horn go off three times: two shorter and one longer blast.

That horn is the problem.  I can sleep through it.  However, the boys think it means, “Get up! Get up! It’s time to party!”   And that’s exactly what they do…party.  Over the past six weeks they have run laps, knocked over their bowls, wheeked loudly, and popcorned at that ungodly time in the morning.

I have tried to ignore them and just roll over in bed to go back to sleep.  My bladder has a different agenda.  It starts screaming at me, “Get up! Get up! You will pee yourself!”  So, of course, I have to get up and use the lady’s room.  The rail lines run a tight ship and the train is almost always on schedule.  So, every morning for the past six weeks, the boys have celebrated the arrival of the 2:00 a.m. train.  I’m stuck in a vicious cycle.

I have seriously considered writing the operators of the cargo line and explaining my dilemma.  I want to tell them about how their horn wakes up my boys and makes me get out of bed every morning to pee.  I want them to understand that the house and toilet seat are extra cold at 2:00 a.m.  I would ask that they move the train’s schedule back four hours to 6:00 a.m.  That’s when I have to wake up…  I think it would be more convenient for me…and the boys.  Sadly, I am only one silly guinea pig mom with two naughty boys.  I don’t think they would delay someone’s cargo by four hours to let me sleep in.  *sigh*

It’s now 2:45 a.m.  The boys have settled back down, my bladder is empty, and my bed is calling me.  I hope that tomorrow I’m able to sleep though the 2:00 a.m. train.  Good night.  – KA

*

*

*

*

Nope.

Responses

  1. Get a fan for white noise. Can be pointed away from you and the boys but it drowns out noise. Good luck

    • Thanks! But as much as I complain, I really do love this routine. – KA


Leave a Reply

Categories

