Posted by: kerryannekay | March 10, 2016

A Candle of Hope

Tonight I light a candle for all guinea pigs both here and past.

Like its flame, their short lives do not last.

But, while our fur babies are here,

We hold them in our hearts so dear. IMG_1477

We spoil them with hay, with treats, and with food,

Their joy of eating puts us in a good mood.

We clear their butts and trim their paws,

We introduce them as ‘kids’ to our maws.

So, as I sit here and think about guinea pigs I’ve had,

I have a feeling of joy, gratitude, but nothing sad.

For I know that I have loved them with all of my heart,

And, I’ll meet them at the rainbow bridge when I depart.

 

Please light a candle tonight in honor of Peter Gurney.  He was an advocate for guinea pig right and wrote books that are still the standard of care for them.

Responses

  1. As Barley went out on the balcony yesterday I couldn’t help but think of the other guinea pigs who also enjoyed the fresh air. He even picked out his spot to sit that one of his predecessors loved. They are sad memories but also joyous at the same time.

    • So true. My boys love fresh air too. Lamont got a nose full of dirt and sneezed up a storm. It was too funny. Fred was too busy eating grass to care about his brother. – KA

  2. Thank you for this beautiful poem. I miss all my old guinea pigs so much, but I am thankful for the time I spent with them. God bless you and all piggy parents.

    • Thank you for compliment. It was short and simple but expressed my feelings for all of my GP. I am too grateful for the time I have with each. God bless you too. – KA

  3. Lovely poem and tribute.


Leave a Reply

Categories

