Posted by: kerryannekay | December 25, 2015

The Mischief Before Pig-Mas

‘Twas the night before Pig-Mas, when all through the house,

Not a creature was stirring, not even the louse;

The hay sacks were hung by the cage with care,

In hopes that St. Nick soon would be there;

The cats were nestled all snug in their beds;

While visions of mice danced in their heads;

And Lamont in his hut, and I in my hay,

Had just settled our butts and wanted to stay,

When out in the living room there arose such a clatter,

I sprang from my hay to see what was the matter.

Away to the door I flew in a zoom,

I tore it open and expected doom.

The full moon shone on living room floor,

And gave a luster of midday to see more.

What to my wondering eyes did appear,

But a cat and dog dressed as a deer,

With the little cat so lively and quick,

I knew in a moment that is NOT St. Nick.

His fur was red from head to his foot,

And his back was all tarnished with ashes and soot;

He rubbed a bundle of toys with his back,

And he jumped up on another pack!

His eyes twinkled without care, oh how scary!

They looked liked he was ready to cause harry-carry!

Then he jumped on the mantle and grabbed the bow with his teeth,

And pulled down the wreath;

This cat was cubby and plump,

As he walked he looked like a lump.

I saw a wink in his eye as he turned his head,

Soon I knew I had all to dread;

He meowed not once, but continued his work,

And pulled down all of the stockings with a jerk,

He walked up to the plate of cookies,

This cat was not like the other rookies.

“Hey!” I called to the intruder,

His meow could not have been ruder!

“JACK!” I yelled at the cat,

He continued to eat the cookies and get fat.

“I’m calling mom on you!”

Jack answered, “What’s she going to do?”

And then, in a twinkling, I heard on the roof

The prancing and pawing of each little hoof.

As I was turning around,

Down the chimney St. Nicholas came with a bound.

Jack sprang on to the back of the dog with an odd hoot,

And away they ran down the hall like kicked with a boot.

Old St. Nick said, “What has happened, here?”

“It was our brother, Jack, I fear…”

He spoke not another word, but went straight to his work,

And fixed all of the stockings, the wreath, and cooking plate; then turned with a jerk,

When his work was done he said to me,

“I’ve had to leave coal for Jack, you see…”

“I know you and Lamont are very good,”

“So, I’ve left you and him something, as I should.”

He looked at his work and laid his finger aside of his nose,

And giving a nod, up the chimney he rose;

He sprang to his sleigh, to his team gave a whistle,

And away they all flew like the down of a thistle.

But I heard him exclaim, ere he drove out of sight—

“Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good night!”

 

I turned and heard Lamont coming down the stairs,

“Did you see St. Nick do all those repairs?”

“NO,” Lamont scolded me,

“I’m tired can’t you see?”

As I walked up the stairs, I knew the truth,

I saw a Christmas miracle but did not have proof…

I went to bed that night,

Sure I would wake up to a wonderful sight.

And yes, as I was nestled all snug in my bed;

I had visions of sugar-plums dance in my head…

 

Happy Holidays to all!

Love,
Kerry Anne, Fred, Lamont, Jack the cat, Eva the dog, and the Human Family

Poem Adopted From:  

“A Visit from St. Nicholas” –  By:  Clement Clarke Moore

Responses

  1. Great poem! So, what did the boys get from Santa?


Leave a Reply

Categories

