Posted by: kerryannekay | October 9, 2013

Grass Issues

The normal Maintenance Guy (MG) is on medical leave.  So, we have a New Maintenance Guy (NMG).  He is a really nice guy with a good sense of humor.  But he is not familiar with Alfalfa and his habits…

I was just out gathering grass for Alfalfa’s dinner.  NMG was walking down the side walk.  He saw me clipping the grass and stopped.  I got a tilt of the head and a ‘what are you doing’ look from him.  With that look, I felt obligated to explain myself.  “I’m gathering an afternoon snack…” I explained and continued to clip.

“Uhmmm,” NMG said uncomfortably, “You want a couple of buck for Wendy’s or something?”

"When Plushies Attack!"

“When Plushies Attack!”

“HUH?” I replied standing up.  “This is not for me,” I laughed.  “This is for my guinea pig, Alfalfa.”

NMG looked totally relieved with my response.  “Ohhhh,” he said laughing, “You had me worried there…”

“Yeah,” I said, “The guinea pig likes to have some grass with his dinner…”

“You know,” NMG replied, “That may not be the best thing for him.” NMG turned and continued on his way.

“Oh, no,” I called, “I wash the grass before he gets it… It’s all good.”  In response, NMG laughed at me.  I started back towards the front door of my building when his meaning hit me.  “NO!” I called.  “It’s not that type of grass!”  NMG turned and gave me a thumb up.  I giggled and turned to walk into the house and ran into the Lady from across the hall.  The grass went everywhere…but, of course, mostly down the front of her coat.

“OH!” I cried.  Followed quickly with, “I’m sorry.”  The lady began to pat at her coat as if it were on fire.  “I was just gathering grass for my guinea piiii…” I started to explain but trailed off.  I had forgotten who I was talking with.

“Is dat for El Diablo?” the lady asked with her thick Spanish accent.  She was glaring and frowning down at me.

“Merrrhhhh…” was all I could get out.

"I'm full and off to sleep!" - A

“I’m full and off to sleep!” – A

“Jest?” she said with a distinct nod.  “I pray for you ‘n dat El Diablo…”  She nodded again and stepped past me.  She started to say the Lord’s Prayer in Spanish.  Unfortunately, I have learned to recognize the prayer in Spanish because of Alfalfa’s conflicts with her.  I was still speechless as I watched her walk down the sidewalk. NMG greeted her as she walked by.  He had been watching the whole thing.  He turned to me with a huge grin on his face and gave me a thumb up again.

“You’re lucky I’m a polite women!” I called back.  “Or else I’d be tempted to give you more than a thumb up!”  NMG waved me off and I heard him giggling in the distance.  I turned and went to gather more grass for Alfalfa.  “What I do for this guinea pig,” I mumbled as I clipped more grass.  Then, I heard the kids giggling at me… *sigh*.  I can’t win.

Responses

  1. That is funny, I would of done the same, for both parts!

    • Oh, I can’t win. I wales into the house wondering what to write about today and ran into this. *sigh*. Thank you got your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

      • i luv support….and a lot of other things!

  2. I’ve been known to collect grass from a school field in the snow before. It doesn’t get much stranger than that!

    The things we do for our piggies!

    ~ Amy

    • Well the grass outside my place is well groomed. LOL. Thank you got your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

  3. I have grown flats of grass on my balcony.

    • I tend to kill plants. I have a black thumb. Thank you got your comment and support. – Kerry Anne


Leave a Reply

Categories

