Posted by: kerryannekay | May 16, 2013

Follow the Beans

Do you ever wonder what your guinea pig does when you are not home?  I do all the time about Alfalfa.  He leaves a lot of evidence behind from his daily activities. In fact, he has an automatic tracing system…

Sometimes, when I get home, I find a trail of beans from place to place in the apartment.  I like to think that Alfalfa has some sort of line dotting machine in his butt…a “bean-line machine”.  It traces dotted lines wherever he travels around the house…only using his beans.  I think it’s normally set to one bean per ten steps.  That’s the only way to describe the lines he creates.  These lines come in very handy when trying to see what he was up to during the day.

I think there is an idle setting on the bean-line machine.  But the idle setting is at a higher distribution rate than the walking setting.  Whenever he stops somewhere, there is a larger bean concentration.  The size of the pile is directly related to the time he spends at a specific location.  For example, I found a huge pile of beans in front of where I keep the treats.  To me, that large pile of beans indicates that he spends a long time looking up at the treats wishing for one.

There is a ‘dump’ setting on it too.  I think that’s in case he unable to dispense all of the beans needed to prevent a backup.  Thank goodness he tends to use that setting on his pans under the bed.  However, the height of the piles does surprise me.  It seems like they are much taller than him.  How is that possible?   Does he shoot them out?  Does he climb the pile like Mount Everest and build from the top to down?  Does he stand on something and bomb the pans?  I don’t think that I will ever know the truth.

The final setting is on Alfalfa’s bean-liner is the run setting.  When he has this setting on it is harder to determine where he has been.  This is a one bean for fifteen step setting.  So, it’s hard to figure out where he has been.  I decided to make a map.  That was a disaster.  See:

Alfalfa's Bean Pattern...

Alfalfa’s Bean Pattern…

As you can see from the map above I couldn’t figure out what the heck had happened during the day.  It just looked like a bunch of beans strewn around the room.  All I could say is that he had one heck of time making it…  Oh, Alfalfa.

Responses

  1. Alfalfa’s path looks very similar to the one my Roomba makes. 😉

    • That’s too funny. He does get around a lot. Thanks for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

  2. One of ours poops in her elevated food bowl. It is as high as the top of her back. We have not figured this out. Perhaps they are telepathically plotting?

    • Telepathically pooping would be my guess. Thanks for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

  3. Haha, way to go Alfalfa! The Mount Everest comment makes me laugh – I sometimes wonder how beans make it to the places they do….

    • He’s the king of that. Are the beans immune to gravity? Can they teleport? It still amazes me. Thanks for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne


Leave a Reply

Categories

