Posted by: kerryannekay | May 2, 2013

A Magic Bean?

I want to ask a serious question to all guinea pig owners.  Do guinea pig bean have magic powers?  You know, like the beans in the story “Jack and the Beanstalk”?  They seem to be everywhere and nowhere all at once.  How is that possible?

"Hay dive!" - A

“Hay dive!” – A

I got to school the other day and went about my normal routine.  During the middle of my physics class I reached into my pocket and felt something.  As my fingers ran over it I quickly realized it was one of Alfalfa’s beans.  I was puzzled and amazed by the find.  My surprise was written all over my face.  My face turned several unnatural shades…all at once.  Several students asked me if I was ok.  I said that I ‘needed to use my inhaler…’ and proceeded quickly into my prep room out of my students’ view.  I quickly threw the bean out in the trash can, made some noise to make it sound like I was doing what I had said, washed my hands, and walked back out with the best composed face I could make.

Again, several students again asked if I was ok.  I lied and said I was fine.  I wanted to say, ‘You won’t believe what I just found in my pocket:  a bean!’  But then I realized that I was talking about finding guinea pig poop in my pocket.  Most likely, that would not go over too well…with anyone.  The more I thought about it, the grosser it became.  I spent the rest of the day pondering how that magic bean had gotten into my pocket.

"What?" - A

“What?” – A

Now, I know what you are thinking…  ‘Well, you must have washed your GP stuff and then your personal stuff in the same washer and by transfer it wound up in your pocket.’  There is one flaw with that idea…  I don’t wash my clothes and GP stuff in the same washer… I use two different ones at the same time… It’s faster!  Besides, a bean would have had to survive the washing process and then floated into my pocket, get dried in the drier, survive being hung up, and finally survive me mad-handling the pants in my morning rush.  Statistically improbable.

So, let’s move on to another possibility:  ‘Well, you must have cleaned up something with a paper towel, placed the towel in your pocket, and then an errant bean just stayed there.’  Really?  A bean just stayed there?  That’s silly.  Besides, it would have to survive the washing process and all that other stuff.  I don’t think so.  I’d love to hear your thoughts and ideas on how that bean got into my pocket.  Also, I’d love to hear about some of the odd places you have found beans.

My conclusion is that Alfalfa has acquired some sort of magic power allow him to teleport beans into people’s pockets…  Odder things have happened with him…right?

 

Author’s Note:  After have several people message me about the blog tonight.  I have gone over to a neighbor’s house and borrowed a computer.  This is not the blog I had planned for tonight.  Thanks for understanding.

Responses

  1. I’ve had many a bean survive the washing machine AND the dryer, so there’s no problem there! I haven’t ever found one in my pocket, though, as I wash all my GP separately too, because it’s very hairy! I did however find a bean on the bench in the changing room at my gym AFTER I’d come out of the shower. I KNOW the bean was from me, and not something that was at the gym, because when I entered the changing room from the shower, there was no bean. Upon turning around after getting half-way dressed, BEAN! (Plus, I recognize my pigs’ handiwork). So? Where did that bean come from? From my clothes? From my gym bag, from ME?? And, wherever it came from, how on Earth did it get there?? Ah yes, the mysteries of guinea pig beans. I agree, they may just be magical!!

    • That’s really funny. It was such an unexpected discovery, I didn’t know how to react…and in front on my students. LOL. Thanks for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

  2. Gpig beans have magical powers, I’ve tried to compost them, but they don’t degrade in any natural fashion. My conclusion is that gpig beans are indeed magical and that they should be treasured.

    I’m thinking of starting a business dedicated to gold-leafing special gpig beans. 😉

    • Oh! I’d buy a pendant of A beans! That would be awesome. Thanks for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

      • Send me some of Alfalfa’s beans and I’ll gold leaf them and make a pendant for you. I am not joking. 🙂

        Of all the various droppings I deal with in my life as a vet tech, gpig beans are the most pleasant of all.

      • YUCK! I’d hate to see what you deal with… Thanks for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

  3. Perhaps when you were holding Al he pooped and a bean gel in your pocket .

    • That’s a thought. But I’m in such a rush in the morning so, I don’t hold him. Got another theory? Thanks for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

  4. There are beans that seem to get in a lot of places by magic. Fig never goes in my husband’s office or the den downstairs yet there are magically beans there. I have found one in my purse too. Perhaps all pigs have A’s magic power to teleport beans…

    • That’s a scary thought. I have found one in the refrigerator. But I think that one was from his food dish. LOL! Thanks for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

  5. All I can say is LOL! I have found beans in the strangest places. It’s as if they use catapults, can get to my drawers, and even use the bathrooms!!! I’m not sure what magic powers they have, if it’s the pigs or just the beans that have magic powers, but when I find them four floors up in the attic, I really have to wonder 🙂

    • That’s awesome. I do wonder some days. Thanks for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

  6. I don’t know how it got there, but I love to hold my Ruby. She’s a GP. She’s initiated me by leaving beans on my shoulder. Once, after letting her play in my hair, I went to put her in her habitat, and beans fell out of my hair.

    • They have a habit of showing up everywhere! – KA


Leave a Reply

Categories

