Posted by: kerryannekay | January 16, 2013

All You Need is a Quick Nap…

I am not feeling well, I am tired, and it is the end of an exhausting semester.  I looked forward to getting home and resting…  However, when I got home Alfalfa was waiting for me.  He was doing the ‘feed me now’ dance.  I got out his food and started to prepare it.  As I was cutting up a carrot for him, Alfalfa let out a huge wheek.  I was startled, jumped, and cut my thumb.  “Damn it!” was all I could yell as I grabbed my left thumb with my right hand.  It was a good bleeder.  I walked over to the bathroom to clean my wound and put a band aid on it.  As I was cleaning, I heard Alfalfa at the door to the bathroom.  “Coming to inspect your work?” I asked him.  He quietly cooed at me.

"Do not take a picture of my butt!" - A

“Do not take a picture of my butt!” – A

I dressed my wound and went back to preparing Alfalfa’s food.  After placing out his bowl, I sat down on the floor in front of the couch with my legs stretched out in front of me.  I was exhausted.  Alfalfa stopped eating and walked over to my side.  “Yes, dude,” I said to him.  He looked up at me and stared.  “Oh, please don’t do that…” I said to him.  “You know it creeps me out.”

Without warning Alfalfa half jumped half climbed up onto my lap.  He walked over my left thigh and settled between my legs with his head away from me.  I was frozen in amazement.  I didn’t dare move.  Alfalfa never did things like this.  NEVER.  “Dude?” I asked as he settled in for a nap putting his head down.  I didn’t dare move.  This was too good to be true.  I sat watching him nap.  After about five minutes I reached out and started to pet his back very gently and slowly.  He sighed.

"I do what I want..." - A

“I do what I want…” – A

We sat for a long time.  I sat there watching my baby boy sleep.  He knew that I needed him and needed his love and that was exactly what he was giving to me.  I sat there and let my stress and worries leave.  Although I was still not feeling well physically, I did feel better mentally.  Finally, Alfalfa was done with his mini-nap and hungry.  He got up and climbed back down and went over to his litter box.  “Well, thank you for not doing that in my lap,” I said to Alfalfa.  He looked up and me and sniffed.

“Silly boy…” I teased him.  “Thank you for that…”  I said feeling truly grateful for his love.  He got out of his litter box and walked past my feet.  He stopped and I felt the nip at the bottom of my foot.  “Ouch!” I yelled and pulled my feet up at to my chest.  “You just had to get that zinger in there, didn’t you?  Brat!” I said with a bit of laughter in my voice.  “Thanks dude for keeping it real.  And thank you for the snuggle…”  Alfalfa turned to his food bowl and started to gobble down his greens.  I watched him for a while.  He is truly an amazing guinea pig.  He is truly a crazy guinea pig.  He is truly my baby boy.

Responses

  1. He is such an amazing pig 🙂

    • All I can say is AW 🙂 🙂 🙂

      • My thoughts exactly. He acts like a tough pig but he’s really a softy at heart. Thank you for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

    • He is the best…according to me. Just a quick one today. Thank you for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

  2. He is such a special charakter. And so cute!

    • He is… That’s why I love him so. Thanks for your comment and support! – Kerry Anne


Leave a Reply

Categories

