Posted by: kerryannekay | January 2, 2013

“There is no place like home…” *click* *click*

Alfalfa proved to me that there is no place like home when we arrived home from Christmas break on Tuesday…

Alfalfa is always the first thing I unpack from the car when we arrive at home.  “Ok, dude,” I said grabbing him, “We are home…”  He wiggled as I pulled him from his carrier.  “It’s cold out there,” I commented and wrapped him in his blanket.  I carefully got out of the car and headed for my apartment entrance.  I looked down a saw Alfalfa stick his nose out and sample the air.  He ducked back under the covers and snuggled in for warmth.  “Yes,” I laughed, “It’s cold out here…”

I opened the lobby door and stepped in.  I took a moment and stomped the snow and salt off of the bottom of my shoes.  Alfalfa poked his head back out of the blanket and let out a huge wheek of excitement.  “Dude,” I said, “I know you’re excited to be home but please be quiet…”  He let out an even louder wheek and began to struggle against the blanket.  He wanted down.  “Hold on,” I complained to my squirmy pig.  I was afraid I was going to drop him.

I got the bottom of the stairs and put Alfalfa down.  He began to run circles, popcorn, and wheek excitedly in the hallway.  Alfalfa ran to our apartment door and let out another huge wheek.  He wanted in!  He was home!  I giggled and got out my keys.  The lady next door opened her door and asked, “Who is it?”

I responded, “It’s just us, Kerry Anne and Alfalfa…We are home…”

"My logo... I'm famous!" - A

“My logo… I’m famous!” – A

She stuck her head out and looked at me, “Elllo!” She said with a bright smile on her face.  Alfalfa was in no mood for small talk.  He let out a ear piercing wheek of displeasure at the delay.  The lady spotted him and said, “El Diablo!” and poked her head back into the apartment.

‘Darn,’ I thought, ‘She’s going for the holly water…’  I grabbed the keys and quickly opened the door to let the devil into the apartment.  Alfalfa must have sensed my urgency and bolted into the apartment the moment the door was open just enough.

As I finished opening the door the lady appeared with her holly water.  She wanted to bless Alfalfa again.  “Dónde está El Diablo?” she said bursting out of her apartment.

Using my best Spanglish I said, “No más!”

“Oi! No más?!?” was the only thing I understood from her next minute of babble.

“Ok, I’m going to go,” I interrupted.  She stopped for a moment and dismissed me with a wave of the hand.  She began to sprinkle holly water by her door and say something that sounded like a prayer.

I walked into my apartment and closed my door locking it behind me.  Alfalfa poked his head out from under the bed and gave me an inquisitive look.  “Yes,” I said to him while taking my coat off, “the coast is clear.  You just had to provoke her, didn’t you?”  Alfalfa huffed at me.  “I’ll take that as a yes…”

“Well, what are you waiting for?  Go for it!”  Alfalfa took off and began to run zooomies around the apartment.  It was ten minutes of pure bliss for him.  After the initial excitement was over, he began his inspections.  He had to make sure everything was in its proper place.  I finished unpacking.  When I was done, I sat down on the couch.  Alfalfa walked over to the middle of the floor and plopped down.  “You happy to be home dude?” I asked.  He looked at me and gave me a huge yawn.  He quickly fell asleep in the middle of the living room floor.  He was the picture of happiness.  I was happy to be home and so was he.  There truly is no place like home…

I wasn’t planning on writing a blog this week, but this was just too good to pass up and I was inspired by my Alfalfa.  Hope your holidays were as good and as crazy as mine.  I have a lot of silly stories to pass on about Alfalfa, New York City, and a bunch of crazy family members.  I look forward to a wonderful new year.  Thanks for supporting Alfalfa and I.

Responses

  1. Punkin knows where he is too. When we get off the elevator and start down the hallway he knows he is headed home. They are so cute when they show you how smart they are and how much they love their own things and their own place. A word of advice on hanging bell toys – what starts out as a toy turns into a signal for attention.

    • Yes! I love that! He was so cute when he knew he was home. Thanks for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

  2. how do you make a logo? my pretty face would look good as a logo!!
    princess guinea xxxx

    • Someone from Brazil made it. I don’t know. – KA

      • do they have a website? if they do send a link


Leave a Reply

Categories

