Posted by: kerryannekay | November 22, 2012

I Am Thankful

My Dearest Alfalfa,

I wanted to write an open letter to you this Thanksgiving to let you know how truly grateful I am to have you in my life.  On the first day I met you, I knew that you were something special.  I didn’t know how special you were or how much I would grow to love you.

I am thankful for me!  – A

At first, you were sick.  Together we worked to get you better.  No matter what needed to be done, you patiently trusted me.  You trusted that everything I did would be in your best interest.  I remember looking into your eyes and seeing your faith in me.  Never once did that faith waver.  You taught me the true meaning of trust.

Then, you were crazy.  You were a strong willed guinea pig that didn’t know proper care.  You lashed out at me when I treated you correctly.  It made my heart break to have you cry when I cut your nails.  You didn’t know what was going on or why it was happening.  But, slowly you learned to accept my care.  I taught you how wonderful it was to be properly treated.  You learned that you deserved to be properly treated.  You taught me the true meaning of patience.

Next, you were strong.  You refused to be kept in a locked cage.  I had to rearrange the entire apartment for you.  You didn’t like other people in your territory.  So, you went after people like the maintenance guy, the crazy blessing neighbor, and the rude tax lady.  You ran away from the vet and causes chaos where ever you went.  Although you may have been stubborn, you never ran away from me.  You taught me the true meaning of being unique.

Next, you were accepting.  We learned to get along and each other’s routines.  You finally started acting like somewhat of a normal guinea pig.  You bit my toes, starting eating timothy hay, and started responding when I called your name.  You still refused to be kept in a locked cage.  But that was something I was willing to accept as one of your flaws.  Neither of us was truly ‘normal’.  We accepted each other’s flaws and quirks.  You taught me the true meaning of normalcy.

Finally, we come to today.  You are Alfalfa.  You still continue to grow each and every day.  I look at you and see your strength.  You have been through so much but still continue to give back to me each day.  You are selfless.  You are unique.  You are my baby boy.  I love you for all that you are.  I love you for how far we have come.  I love you for all that you give to me.  I love you for all that you have taught to me.  I love you, my Alfalfa.  Thank you.  You have taught me the true meaning of love.

You Grateful Mom,

Kerry Anne

Responses

  1. So sweet 🙂

    • Thank you. I can’t help but love my little butt-head. He is so awesome. Thanks for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

  2. It’s a pity he can’t read!

    • It is! But I read it to him. Thank you! – Kerry Anne

  3. Beautiful letter. Alfalfa is very lucky to be surrounded by so much love and caring. And I am so glad he found you.

    • So am I. I knew when he looked at me he was my boy. Thanks for your comment and support. – Kerry Anne

  4. That was beautiful.

    • Thank you. I do love him so much! – Kerry Anne


Leave a Reply

Categories

