Posted by: kerryannekay | October 3, 2012

Jack Goes for a Ride

Jack is Alfalfa’s brother from another mother.  He is also, like Alfalfa, a rescue.  Jack has some odd habits, just like Alfalfa.  However, I think jack’s obsession with cars is where he differs from my sweet guinea pig.

Jack likes to ‘help’ me study…

Jack likes to walk out of the house with me when I leave to go somewhere.  He will follow down the steps and the driveway to the car.  I always have to pet him before getting into the car.  He will meow non-stop until I get out and pet him.  Jack does the same thing to my parents no matter when they leave.  After he is satisfied, Jack will sit there and watch us leave home.  He usually does not leave the property…ever.

The last time I was home, Jack decided to do something new.  I bent down, as was the routine, and pet him.  He purred and reveled in the attention.  “Ok, dude,” I said, “I need to go to the store.”  I got into my car and started the engine.  Jack jumped onto the hood of my car.  I giggled and revved the engine to scare him.  It didn’t faze him.  I honked the horn.  Jack looked down at the hood and then back up at me.  I honked it again…longer this time.  Jack looked down at the hood again and laid down on it.
I got out of the car and stood next to my open door.  “JACK!” I said loudly.  “Get off of the car!”  I pointed at the ground to emphasize my point.  Jack settled in and stretched out.  “Ok, cat,” I warned and walked around the open door to get the defiant cat.  He saw the movement and stood up.  I walked to the hood and reached for the cat.  He walked up the windshield and up to the roof leaving paw prints in his wake.  “Jack…” I pleaded, “Cut it out!”

I walked over to the side of the car to grab the cat.  He walked down the roof, down the rear windshield, and on to the trunk.  “What?” I said.  I was exasperated with the situation.  I am embarrassed to admit that I threw a bit
of a temper tantrum.  I stomped my feet, threw my head back, and screamed at the top of my lungs.  When I was done screaming, I heard a voice ask, “You ok?”  I turned to see the next door neighbors walking by.  “Yeup,” is all I could say as I got back in my car.  I heard them warn me, “You know your cat is on the car?  Right?”  I didn’t respond.

“All right cat,” I said through gritted teeth, “Two can play this game…”  I put my car in reverse and backed up two feet.  I saw Jack in my rear-view mirror.  I stared at him and he stared back defiantly.  “We will see, cat, we will see…”  I pulled the car forward with a bit of a jerk.  Jack, being a healthy male cat, just adjusted to the movement.  He walked up to the roof of the car.  “Damn it!” I yelled.  I put the car into park.  I hit the inside roof of the car in an attempt to scare the cat off of it…and in a bit of frustration.  It worked.  He walked down the windshield and sat on the hood facing the passenger compartment.

“Ok, let’s go for a ride,” I said to the cat sitting on the hood.  Now, let me explain where my parents live BEFORE anyone freaks out on me.  My parents live in the middle of nowhere…in the country on a dead-end at the very end of the development.  There is only local traffic and very little at that.  So, please no hate mail about me taking the cat out onto a major city highway…  Now that’s out, back to the story… I backed out of the drive way.  Jack did not move.  I put the car into drive and started to drive slowly down the development road.  Jack did not move.  I slowly drove past the walking neighbors.  They began to freak out at the site of the cat on the hood.  Jack did not move.  I got to the first stop sign and properly came to a stop.  Jack did not move.  The damn cat was not going anywhere.

I turned the car around and slowly drove back to the house.  As I passed the walking neighbors they yelled and pointed at the hood of my car.  They were acting like I didn’t see a bright orange cat sitting on the hood of my silver car.  Did these people think I was blind or an idiot…apparently both…  I pulled into the driveway and put the parking brake on.  I got out of the car and started to ramble on at the cat, “Jack, get off of the car…now…get off of the car…now, Jack, now…Oh, come on, cat, get off of the car…I want to leave get off of the car!”  I saw the next door neighbors standing down the street looking at me.  I gave up and got back into the car.  I picked up my phone and called my mom in the house.

“Yes, darling,” she answered.

“Mom, Jack’s on my car hood and won’t get off.  What should I do?” I begged.

Bones (left) and Jack (right) in their favorite spot… on mom’s lap.

“Hold on,” she said.  I heard her walking in the house over the phone.  The front door opened.  She opened the screen door and stuck her head out.  “Jack!” I heard on the phone and from the door.  Jack looked over towards the door.  “Let’s go!” she yelled.  The cat jumped down off of my car and ran for the front door.  He ran inside.  The door and screen door closed.  “Ok?” my mom asked over the phone.

“Thanks,” I said flabbergasted, “Uhmmm, you need anything from the store?”

“Nope,” she responded, “Love you and I’ll see you when you get back.”

“Ok, love you too,” I said still in shock.  I backed out of the driveway and went down the road slowly.  The neighbors just stared at me as I drove by.  I waved and gave them a huge grin.  What else could I do?  Jack is beyond words sometimes…

Responses

  1. Great story. A truly fearless cat

    • Right. Try more like a pain in my butt. Thanks for the comment. – Kerry Anne


Leave a Reply

Categories

