Posted by: kerryannekay | March 28, 2012

Dude, Where’s my Sock – Part 1

I think I ate too much... *burp*

I woke up one morning in a cold room covered by warm blankets.  Stretching, I stuck my foot out from under the covers to test the temperature.  I forgot that I had socks on.  So, using my toes, I slipped off both socks and let them fall to the side of the bed.  I stuck both feet out from the warm covers.  The air was chilly on my bare feet and it sent a shiver up my body.  I quickly pulled my feet back under the covers.  These movements made my bed shake and woke Alfalfa up from his slumber under my bed.  I looked over the side of the bed and saw a drowsy guinea pig stick his head from under the bed skirt.

“Good Morning,” I said smiling down at my little buddy.  He looked up at me and huffed.  “Oh, did I wake you?” I asked sarcastically.  Paying no attention to my second comment, he sniffed the air.  He sniffed at my socks next to the bed.  “Yes, I know, they probably don’t smell the greatest,” I admitted.  Alfalfa’s attention would not wander away from the socks on the floor.

Guinea pigs have this unique ability to look short and fat and then stretch out and become long and very skinny.  This ‘Slinky’ ability is neat to see in action.  Alfalfa stretched out from under the bed doing his best ‘Slinky’ impression.  He gingerly grabbed the sock between his teeth and then contracted back to his original position.  “What are you up to pig?” I asked as I saw the sock move, “You like my socks?  Do they smell like your mom?”  I shifted in bed making a noise.  Alfalfa retreated back under the bed with sock in tow.  Laughing at my precocious pig I grabbed my phone and update Alfalfa’s Adventures status:  “Alfalfa just stole my sock.  What are the chances that I will get it back again?”  My phone task accomplished I got up and went about my morning routine.  I got several great responses to my post on Alfalfa’s Facebook page.  I was not concerned that I would not see my sock again.  After all, it was just under the bed…right?

* Come back on Friday for Part Two of “Dude, Where’s my Sock?”

P.S. – Happy Birthday Kate C.  Keep up the good work you are doing with your rescues!  Alfalfa and I approve and support you!

Responses

  1. We love you Alfalfie peeg! Thanks for the birthday wishes! 🙂

    • Kate, We love you too! Thank you for all you do for your rescues. It inspires me. I can not rescue as many as you can but, I do my part…one pig at a time. Thank you for your support and thank you for your love. – Kerry Anne and Alfalfa


Leave a Reply

Categories

